EWA Elects 2021-22 Board Officers

The Board of Directors of the Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the election of new officers of the board. Effective December 1, 2021, the following board officers began two-year terms:

Board officers for 2021–22

President: Steve Drummond
Executive Producer, NPR News

Vice President, Journalists: Eva-Marie Ayala
Education Lab Editor, The Dallas Morning News

Vice President, Community Members: Debbie Veney
Senior Vice President, Communications and Marketing, National Alliance for Public Charter Schools

Secretary: Erica Green
Education Correspondent, The New York Times

Treasurer: Felice Nudelman
Associate Vice President, Academic Innovation and Transformation, The American Association of State Colleges and Universities

Greg Toppo, a longtime national education journalist and author, assumes the officer role of immediate past president after having served as president since 2017.

Directors for 2021–22

Sarah Carr
Independent Journalist and Author

David Hoff
Chief Executive Officer, DavidJHoff

Barbara McKenna
Director of Strategic Communications, Learning Policy Institute

Denise-Marie Ordway
Managing Editor, Journalist’s Resource at the Harvard Kennedy School

Joy Resmovits
Senior Editor/Local Impact, The Trace

Beth Shuster
Director of Public Communications, Office of the Provost, University of Southern California

Scott Widmeyer
Founding Managing Partner, Finn Partners and Founder, Widmeyer Communications

Learn more here about the current EWA Board of Directors.