EWA Announces 2022 National Awards for Education Reporting Category Winners

For the full list of category winners, click here.

Photo credit: Jimmy Minichello (EWA Board Members Steve Drummond and Debbie Veney)

June 2, 2023 (WASHINGTON, DC)—The Education Writers Association is delighted to present the category winners for the 2022 National Awards for Education Reporting, recognizing the top education journalism in the United States.

Journalist honorees covered battles over curricula in public education, investigated the legacy of the no-excuses charter school movement, and exposed collateral damage of low teacher compensation. 

“This year’s entries demonstrated the powerful impact of reporting about our fragmented education system and the challenges and injustices faced by students. The winners’ stories reflect some of the most divisive issues of our time,” said Kathy Chow, EWA’s executive director. “Their work has generated local and national dialogue, and we are all better for these conversations.” 

EWA first announced the category prizes in person at a Friday evening awards banquet during EWA’s 76th National Seminar in Atlanta. Each category prize comes with an honorarium of $1,000.

Winners were selected from among 421 eligible entries for 17 categories of competition. Representing 16 news organizations, they range from journalists in local markets to staffers at national news organizations.

The awards competition was independently judged by 118 current and former editors and reporters, many of whom are past recipients of prestigious journalism awards from EWA and others.

On Saturday, June 3, EWA will honor the winners of the annual Ronald Moskowitz Prize for Outstanding Beat Reporting, which comes with $2,500; the EGF Accelerator’s Eddie Prize, which comes with $7,500; and the Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting, which comes with $10,000. 

EWA would like to thank all who entered the competition and express our deep gratitude to the busy professionals who volunteered their time to evaluate this year’s many fine entries.