Hannah Dreyfus

Enter the 2022 National Awards for Education Reporting

Submit entries from now until Jan. 9, 2023 at 6 p.m. Eastern.

2021 EWA Awards winner Hannah Dreyfus of ProPublica.
Photo Credit: James Minichello, AASA, The School Superintendents Association

About the EWA Awards

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the launch of the 2022 National Awards for Education Reporting. Journalists may submit entries from Nov. 16, 2022 to Jan. 9, 2023 at 6 p.m. Eastern

Journalists who published work in 2022 on any education topic in any medium are encouraged to enter EWA’s annual journalism contest, which honors the best education reporting across all news media. The awards program offers a total of 20 prizes, with cash awards ranging from $1,000 to $10,000.

EWA’s journalism competition aims to highlight the many outstanding reporters working to illuminate what happens in classrooms, schools, colleges and universities, as well as uncover inequities and disparities in the system and highlight solutions.

Updated and New Awards Categories

This year, there are some changes. We merged the investigative and public service categories into Investigative & Public Service and expanded its size range. Instead of two sizes, the new merged category will offer three newsroom sizes: small, midsize and large. 

EWA will also offer a new category: Collaborations. The best collaborative work between news organizations of various sizes will receive special recognition through this category.

New Two-Tiered Awards Fee Structure 

The awards fee structure is different this year. From Nov. 16, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern, EWA will offer an early bird discount on awards applications. The fee is $50 for members and $100 for nonmembers. (Membership is free.) From Jan. 1, 2023 to Jan. 9, 2023, the fee will increase to $75 for members and $125 for nonmembers.

The EGF Accelerator’s Eddie Prize

EWA also welcomes entries for the EGF Accelerator’s Eddie Prize, which recognizes coverage of challenges facing low-income college students and comes with a cash prize of $7,500. News outlets of any size are invited to enter the Eddie competition, and there is no entry fee for this prize.

Other EWA Awards Categories 

In the National Awards for Education Reporting, EWA plans to present 17 awards winners with $1,000 cash prizes in seven categories: Audio Storytelling, Beat Reporting, Collaborations, Features, Investigative Reporting/Public Service, News, and Visual Storytelling. Each category includes various newsroom size divisions.

Winners of the three Beat Reporting category prizes will be eligible for the Ronald Moskowitz Prize for Outstanding Beat Reporting, which comes with an additional $2,500. Winners of the other categories and divisions (excluding the Eddie) will be considered for the Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting. The grand prize comes with $10,000.

Entries will be judged on criteria that include the quality of writing and reporting, freshness and depth of insights, clarity of explanation, impact, and innovation of presentation.

For more information on the awards, visit EWA Awards  or contact EWA at awards@ewa.org.

About the Education Writers Association 

The Education Writers Association (EWA.org) is the national professional organization dedicated to strengthening the community of education writers and improving the quality of education coverage to better inform the public. Member journalists benefit from the organization’s high-quality programs of training, information, support, and recognition.